Spirit of the North

New Release

Spirit of the North

‘This is the kind of book that one can get immersed in while sitting in front of a fireplace on a cold day with a nice glass of wine.’

The third novel in the award-winning ‘A Blackburn Trilogy’

A Blackburn Trilogy

A Blackburn Trilogy:
The Northern Elements, Northern Flames, and Spirit of the North.

Share This Page:


Short Stories

Completely free to read.

Work in Progress

A running buffet of the thoughts and ideas that crowd into a writer’s life.

Gods Descending To Battle

Films and Books

What I have been watching La Strada (Fellini) ***** [Heart-rending] Matador (Almodóvar) *** Viridiana (Buñuel) **** The Impossible (Byona) **** [Surprisingly good] Bad Education (Almodóvar) **** Bonjour Tristesse…

Ian Thomson, the boy

About The Author

Ian Thomson was born in Blackburn, Lancashire on Halloween, 1949, in a different world, where coal was delivered by horse and cart. Like any boy of his age, he wore sleeveless tank tops, which were short, and shorts which were long.